Who We Are

The National Women’s Business Council is a non-partisan federal advisory committee established to serve as an independent source of advice and policy recommendations to the Administrator of the SBA, Congress, and the President on economic issues of importance to women business owners.

The Council is comprised of 15 members including:

  • One presidentially appointed Chair
  • Eight women business owners, half of the president’s party and half not of the president’s party
  • Six representatives of national women’s business organizations, including representatives of women’s business center sites. The current member organizations are:

Meet the Members of the Council.

Meet the Council Staff.


What We Do

The Council is committed to:

  • Analyzing research and data on issues of importance to women business owners and their organizations
  • Communicating these findings widely
  • Connecting members of the women’s business community to one another, and to public policy makers
  • Providing a platform for change in order to expand and improve opportunities for women business owners and their enterprises –
    from start-up to success to significance

Download the latest NWBC Annual Report.



The National Women’s Business Council was established as part of the Women’s Business Ownership Act of 1988 as an advisory body of women business owners. It was asked to identify the barriers to success for women-owned businesses and report annually to the president and Congress on their findings.

By the early 1990s, the Council had begun bringing together women business owners, policy makers, bankers, representatives of women’s business organizations and other stakeholders to discuss potential solutions to the challenges facing women business owners, and to recommend these solutions to the president and Congress.

In 1994, the Small Business Reauthorization Act changed the structure of the NWBC to its current form to include both women business owners and representatives of women’s business organizations. In 1998, the law was amended to expand the Council’s membership to its current 15.