Donna A. James, Chairwoman of the National Women’s Business Council (NWBC) today announced the names of nine newly appointed women to the Council. Council members will serve three-year terms on this nonpartisan federal advisory council created to serve as an independent source of advice and policy recommendations to the President, Congress, and the U.S. Small Business Administration on economic issues of importance to women business owners.

“I am thrilled to be able to work with this talented and experienced group of women business leaders,” says James, who was appointed Chair by President Obama in October 2010. “These knowledgeable women are diverse in their perspectives, and passionate about helping women entrepreneurs more fully participate and contribute to our nation’s economic well being.”

Members of the NWBC are prominent women business owners and leaders of women’s business organizations. The Council’s mission is to promote bold initiatives, and review policies and programs designed to support women’s business enterprises at all stages of development in the public and private sector marketplaces.

Newly appointed Council Members include: Roz L. Alford, Principal, ASAP Solutions Group, LLC (Norcross, GA); Gina Robison-Billups, Founder and CEO of the National Association for Moms in Business (Henderson, NV); Kimberly A. Blackwell, CEO and Managing Partner of PMM Agency (Columbus, OH); Wendy A. Lopez, a Dallas- based Vice President of URS Corporation; Jaime Nack, Founder and President of environmental consulting firm Three Squares Inc. (Santa Monica, CA); Fran Pastore, founder, President and CEO of the Women’s Business Development Council (Stamford, CT); Lea Marquez Peterson, Owner of (Tucson, AZ); Lisa Price, Founder of Carol’s Daughter beauty product empire (Brooklyn, NY); and Tina Byles Williams, Chief Executive Officer & Chief Investment Officer of FIS Group (Philadelphia, PA).

These women will join existing Council Member Wendi Goldsmith, CEO and Founder of the Bioengineering Group (Salem, MA) and Barbara A. Kasoff, President, Women Impacting Public Policy (San Francisco, CA), whose terms were extended by James until March 2012. James has also named Dr. Marsha Firestone, Founder of the Women’s President’s Organization to serve as a special advisor to the Chair.